The Album Club: like Fight Club, but with fewer teeth dropping out

It's here! 

trendthrift received a three month subscription to Rough Trade‘s Album Club for Christmas (amongst many other wonderful gifts, incidentally — we must have been on Santa’s good blog list last year), with today being delivery day for the first batch of CDs. Sure enough, the parcel arrived this morning.

Inside the nicely packaged box were new albums from Clap Your Hands Say Yeah (not actually out to buy until the 23rd, so that’s a bonus) and Infadels, plus the new collaboration from Isobel Campbell (previously of Belle and Sebastian) and Mark Lanegan. Also included was an Album Club exclusive bonus disc featuring seven specially-recorded demo tracks from Campbell.

Clap Your Hands

All in all, a nice selection, each accompanied by brief ‘listening notes’ which tell the reader a bit more about the act. I read a post on a forum recently suggesting that this kind of service is “sickening”; that it was some kind of pre-packaged lifestyle choice for hollow shells of human beings who only care about what their CD shelf will look like to visitors. Crazy stuff. I try and search out new music from a variety of sources, and this looks like being another invaluable one. I couldn’t give a toss if nosey guests think my CD collection is indie scenester dross — if I like something, I just like it. What’s more, if it turns out I don’t enjoy any of these albums, I can send it back (or indeed all of them) to be replaced by something of my choosing. Perfect.

Needless to say, I’m looking forward to giving these a listen.

3 Responses to The Album Club: like Fight Club, but with fewer teeth dropping out

  1. Trixter says:

    You must be outside of North America because we don’t have anything nearly as cool as that. I suppose I could get them to ship it overseas, but then again there’s the small matter of cost :-)

  2. trendthrift says:

    Yep, I’m in the UK. It’s a great little idea I think, and Rough Trade has a great reputation over here for breaking interesting new music. The service itself is pretty expensive; it works out at £14 per album, which is a fair bit more than I would pay if I were to buy the albums seperately from somewhere like Amazon. However, I’m already pretty sure that I’m going to carry it on when my three-month gift subscription is up. Firstly, if this first pack is anything to go by, I’m likely to get sent at least one album per month that I haven’t heard of before, which is great. Most of all, though, I felt like I was a seven-year-old on Christmas morning all over again when I excitedly opened the package on Friday. There’s just something nice about being sent a surprise, even if you’re paying for the privilege.

    If you’re genuinely interested in possibly signing up to this at some point, Rough Trade state that they are only covering EU/EEA countries at the moment, but that they hope to expand in the near future:

    “We hope to accept members from further afield soon. If you’d like to be notified of when this is occurs, send an email to world[AT]thealbumclub.com, stating which country you live in and we’ll let you know.”

  3. Pingback: trendthrift » Promiscuous electrical equipment

Leave a Reply

